• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wraping old exposed brick wall

GP

I hope to attempt to wrap this old brick wall with an vintage pre-war poster inspired panel, measuring 12' x 15'.

As you can see, the brick is unpainted and has several gaps and imperfections in the mortar.

Do I need to somehow treat the brick before applying vinyl (other than blowing it out with air)? Any vinyl recommendations?

I have limited experience, though I have applied cast vinyl to block and brick. It was in much better condition and painted.

Fortunately, the client wants a weathered and imperfect look, as if it has been there for years.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated,

GP

ps - have a great week!

Attachments

• bare photo.jpg
    bare photo.jpg
    193.9 KB · Views: 117

MachServTech

I would use only 3M IJ8624 Graphic film for textured surfaces with the 8524 lam. To use this film you need either heated sponge rollers or a sponge roller that can handle heat.....a lot of heat! This install will be a bitch, but when it is done it will look like it was hand painted on.
I charge crazy $$$$ to do these.

GP

The graphic is killer - i will post once we get the deposit.

Thanks for all the information - please keep it coming -

Now, to figure out a way to get me and a helping hand up there.

GP

GP

How about you come down to install and I go up and spend some time riding my bike around in the cool mountain air?

Adam Bennett

You should check out DPF8000 from Arlon. Good stuff for Untreated rough surfaces like this. Lots of heat and a spongey roller will totally do the trick

MachServTech

How about you come down to install and I go up and spend some time riding my bike around in the cool mountain air?