• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Colors look spotty.

klingsdesigns

I have a vp540 why do my colors always look spotty and not a nice smooth color.

Attachments

• test1.jpg
    test1.jpg
    44.2 KB · Views: 815
  • test2.jpg
    test2.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 419

shoresigns

Ok. I'm not an expert, but I can offer a few more tips. Next relevant question would be: are you using Roland brand inks, or a 3rd party brand like Clearcolour? If you're using 3rd party inks, they don't dry as quick so you need to crank up the heat on all your profiles.

If that still doesn't solve it, I would turn down the head speed to 1/2 or 1/3 of the current setting and do another test print, just to make sure it isn't a drying issue. This will make your print head go side to side much slower while printing.

It definitely looks like a drying issue though, so another culprit could be your media profile. A good test for that would be, for example, if you're using Avery matte calendered vinyl with an Avery profile, try the generic Roland matte calendered profile or go find a matte calendered profile from another brand like 3M. If one of the other profiles works better, then your Avery profile might be laying down too much ink.

klingsdesigns

Ok. I'm not an expert, but I can offer a few more tips. Next relevant question would be: are you using Roland brand inks, or a 3rd party brand like Clearcolour? If you're using 3rd party inks, they don't dry as quick so you need to crank up the heat on all your profiles.

If that still doesn't solve it, I would turn down the head speed to 1/2 or 1/3 of the current setting and do another test print, just to make sure it isn't a drying issue. This will make your print head go side to side much slower while printing.