• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Computer problems...

Deaton Design

My computer started doing this yesterday. Once I booted it up, it would get to the desktop, almost loaded, then all of a sudden, it restarted itself.
It would do this continuously if I let it. I went in and turned restart on failure off, and when it did it again, the error message I got was "page fault in non paging area." ALso, my machine has two 512 sticks of ram, and under properties, its only showing 512. Anyone know whats going on here? Only way I can get it to stay on right now is in safe mode.
Much thanks for any and all advice.:thumb:

Tim Aucoin

I would have to agree with Shovelhead... bad RAM, although I'm no Windows expert being a Mac user! Good luck with this.

Tim Aucoin

From Microsoft's support pages...

STOP 0x00000050 PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA
Additionally, if you troubleshoot by removing all unnecessary hardware devices that are installed on the computer, and then you run the Setup program, you may receive an error message that is similar to the following:
Setup cannot copy the file Setupdd.sys.

CAUSE
This behavior may occur if one of the following conditions is true:
One or more of the random access memory (RAM) modules that are installed on your computer are faulty.
The RAM configuration is incompatible with Windows XP.

RESOLUTION
To troubleshoot this behavior, follow these steps:
Remove some of the memory modules that are installed on the computer. Leave at least the RAM that is required for the computer to start and run Windows XP.

The recommended RAM to run Windows XP is 128 megabytes (MB). The minimum is 64 MB, and the maximum is 4 gigabytes.