• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Decal printing

Rupsty

Hi,

I have a somewhat specific question. It's hypothetical but does represent a potential scenario I might find myself in soon.

I'd like to print 8000 decals on a vinyl decal material. They would need to be cut to shape. I'd like at least 720x720 dpi. They're approximate size would be 5"x7". How fast could this happen if there were a machine dedicated to getting it done? Which machinery can support high speed + higher (not highest) quality.

I realize I may be leaving out variables and this is not intentional. I'm very new to this kind of printing. I own two 44" Epsons for proofing only. We're a retouching and prepress company and I want to diversify our offering. There is so much out there for a newb like myself. I'm just trying to narrow down my goals and go after what I think I can sell.

Thanks in advance,
Rusty

Rupsty

decal quantity..

Hi,

Thanks for the responses. I have a contact that is willing to give me this work if I can do it in a reasonable amount of time. I believe he would give me 3-4 days to do it. The problem is that he already has a vendor who does conventional offset decals for a pretty low price. But the quality is terrible. I realize this quantity is pretty high for a digital device but I wanted to know if there are situations out there that warrant a digital printer/cutter that can get these done in this timeframe.

For me, this may not be a money maker but if I can make a little bit of cash but more importantly, gain experience with the media and machinary, I can grow from there.