• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Designers? Any competent ones out there?

briderx

I work in a shop here in Washington. I swear, the designers don't know their way out of a cardboard box. Seems that they care about making everything "pretty" instead of functional. 2 of the 3 have been in the business for over 15 years each. One of them can draw a building and I can guarantee that every single brick in the building will be there, perfectly. But when it comes to the sign thats to be hung on the building, sometimes I have to sit there for a moment, and think, "HOW?!". How can they not draw straight lines? How can a rectangle end up looking like a f#ckedupagon? How come they can't enable the "snap-to" button and align everything? How come there are weird "war wounds" in each letter that are totally unexplainable? I have asked my boss to hire my 6 year old son, as I believe he could design better than some of these guys.

My job is to prepare jobs for the router table. ANYONE that knows anything about router tables know that they are VERY PRECISE MACHINES. Yet, one designer told me, "I set my tolerance to 1/4. I figure that's enough fudge room."

How is this acceptable? When, in the sign industry did this become standardized?

I would love to say that this only happens in this shop, but any drawing I get from ANY company comes the same way.. Carelessly, messy and absoluetely no consideration for anyone else. 99% of the jobs I get from other companies come tilted, like they grabbed the whole drawing and just turned it.

When I send the drawing back, and attach, "can you please fix this?" I get a response of, "it's an easy fix, can't you do it yourself? Or do you need me to do it for you?"