• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help Please!

Signmaker1234

Need help with backlit sign please! Sign faces are already there and they are white. What's the difference between overprint, double strike, and double print? Using versaworks rip btw. Can someone give me some vinyl recommendations for this project also? I've never done a backlit sign before. Thank you in advance!

CanuckSigns

For backlits, your best bet is always going to be to use a good quality translucent cut vinyl, it produces the best results day and night. However if the design doesn't allow for that, you can print on translucent white vinyl.

The problem with printing translucent signs is that the inks are translucent so when you back light a standard print it looks very washed out. There is a way around d this that involves printing on 2 seperate sheets and carefully lining them up, but your material costs double and your labour cost goes up.

Double printing is a way of laying down 2 times as much ink as normal so when the sign is backlit the colours look correct, however during the day the colours are too dark

TL;DR use a translucent cut vinyl where possible as your results will be much nicer.

Signmaker1234

For backlits, your best bet is always going to be to use a good quality translucent cut vinyl, it produces the best results day and night. However if the design doesn't allow for that, you can print on translucent white vinyl.

The problem with printing translucent signs is that the inks are translucent so when you back light a standard print it looks very washed out. There is a way around d this that involves printing on 2 seperate sheets and carefully lining them up, but your material costs double and your labour cost goes up.