• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How to Print true CMYK ???

Biggermens

Hi there everyone

i am trying to do a few test prints of 4 squares C M Y K
and its pretty clear that is not 100% Yellow and the other colors are not 100% also
I export my file from corel as a eps and use the default settings, open in versaworks and print

I sure i am doing something wrong or is it even possible to print true CMYK ??

Thanks
Biggs

equippaint

Design in RGB
Export as a PDF using RGB
Don't listen to anything different.
What about pantones? I do almost everything except raster images in cmyk and export it the same. Im no expert by any means but most customer supplied design in in cmyk and offset printing wants files in cmyk as well. Might as well keep it simple and cmyk is easier for me personally.

ProPDF

I was speaking in terms of digital eco-solvent printing only using a vector based program and should have clarified. There are a lot of factors in a print operation more than I have time to list. There is so much misinformation out there that it will confuse a lot of people. I think dealer sales reps are a majority of the problem. Color is a profession in and of itself so most of us have trouble. I am not an expert but definitely not a novice. The few color experts I have seen explain digital eco-solvent printing correctly and fix my workflow have said the same thing and it makes sense. However these guru's were in the minority of the information I was given. CMYK is safe for a lot of shops and good enough for most. RGB can get you CMYK and more. Your properly profiled CMYK printer IS capable of outputting more colors than what is inside the CMYK color gamut.

Design in CMYK: Good enough (can be an average print shops safe space)
Design in RGB: Best