• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

If I have one more customer that uses the word "pop"...

SolitaryT

I've worked with people over the years who, as a general rule, fired customers who wanted signs that "popped", that had proofs that they looked at and wanted it to "pop" more. I always thought it was a bit extreme when I was a novice, but now that I'm [clears throat] "seasoned" and just had an experience with a customer who said they liked the design but wanted it to "pop" more, I realized in a single moment the frustration with customers who seem to almost WANT to be AS VAGUE AS POSSIBLE in describing what they want in a sign.

So, thanks for listening to me vent. Now that I've shared, I'm confident I can not rip this customer's head from his shoulders. I'm throwing a link from The Oatmeal comics. Yes, it's about a web design, but it's pertinent. Enjoy. So Happy It's Thursday!

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/design_hell

SAR.Summerlin

Sorry to hear that clients can and will drive you crazy.
I have a client right now who keeps having me move things a fraction of an inch back and forth. She also took my reasonable layout of her information (way too much of it) and made me create something that just looks awful I will not be including this anywhere as and example of our work because it just looks awful. Then she is fighting us over $10 of the cost and I haven't even charged her extra for the 10 revisions she has had me make.

omgsideburns

I really like when a client is super vague, and then when I send them something they suddenly know what they want and it is completely different from what I've created.

Good thing I'm getting paid for this.

vid

... to be AS VAGUE AS POSSIBLE