• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laserjet on Vinyl.

PiizzLe

I am very new to this. I just recently bought a second hand Graphtec 5000-60. I know that my plotter cannot print and only cut.

My question is can my laserjet printer print on a regular white vinyl or is there a specific vinyl for this?

Thanks a lot.

PiizzLe

I did not specify my intentions for this question.

I want to print on the vinyl with a laserjet and put it through my cutter to cut.

dypinc

You can buy vinyl label sheets for your laserjet. How small a sheet is practical to cut with Graphtec will take some testing to see how much margin is needed from the targets to the page sensors.

anotherdog

??? I would no more feed vinyl into a laser printer than I would craft cheese slices.
However I just googled it and there are laser printable vinyls.

Wow, letter size vinyl in a laser printer. That has to have all the guys who wrap vehicles worried.

Now I wonder if you can toast cheese in there too?

Tony McD

Never tried the actual laser vinyl, but about 15 years ago I ran a sheet of sign vinyl through a laser copier at work....it got all wadded up inside the machine. Was sweatin' it big time till I got it out and saw the machine still worked. Didn't try that again.

PiizzLe

Okay so what is my alternative since I do not have $10,000 for a new printer/plotter combo.

I am trying to print images/designs (multiple color) onto a vinyl I'm assuming I can only do this with a printer (for now) then run it into my cutter.

Thanks guys.

letterman7