• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

My 1st Plotter/Cutter - HELP!

CZ

Hello ALL!

Total noob here facing an equipment dilemma...

So here's the deal,
I'm a designer looking to branch out into vinyl decals, murals, etc (no printing)

My biggest concern is being able to replicate even the finest of detail,

I've been eyeing the Graphtec CE6000-60 and the Roland GX 24, based on the info I had seen, Graphtec was the way to go, But I just noticed Roland updated the GX24 to the GS24 which now has slightly more cutting power...

Also, spoke to someone today about SummaCut D75, slightly more expensive but I was intrigued. When I mentionned cutting fidelity, he told me that using ORACAL 631, he was able to cut text as fine as 6pt!! ( I know.. i know..., I will rarely be cutting type at 6pt but it's awesome to know it can be done!)

So i guess my question is:

If you had to buy a first machine today, and precision was your main priority (not speed)
Which would you choose:
Graphtec CE6000-60 (affordable, comes with stand, tons of people swear by it)
Roland GS-24 (new model! but seems very similar to CE6000-60)
Summa D75 (not very much feedback from users, but apparently bad ***)

Thanks a bunch!

Techman

My biggest concern is being able to replicate even the finest of detail,

Why? Why would one want to chase that kind of duplication?
Vinyl moves after it is cut. It retracts, stretches shrinks, whatever it wants to do. Vinyl sheets shift, drag, skew, buckle and any other variation it wants to perform as it moves around the cut table.