• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Not sure what cutter to get...

AmickRacing

1st of all, I've came here off and on for a couple years, but finally serious enough to actually post and look further into this whole vinyl thing.

Rather than make another post in the other section to introduce myself, I'll just bore you with the details here instead :cool:

I'm looking to get myself a cutter mostly to save money (well, sort of) when I letter my race car. I don't exactly have any big plans to start my own gig with this, but I can kind of see doing a couple other cars in the future. I have some design experience (self taught) and I've made several designs for cars on the computer, and just gave the files to a sign guy to cut out. They liked that arrangement since around here very few sign guys like to do race cars, and I liked it because I got what I wanted (usually a good thing lol). Of course once I have a cutter I'm sure I'll find many many more uses for it... that might help me justify it with the wife. :thumb:

Anyway, since this isn't exactly going to make me money, I'm not looking to dive into the new cutter market, and definately not looking to get into the printer/cutter stuff either. Ok, well I want one, but the ole budget doesn't.

Used seems to be the best option, and occasionally there's some good buys out there. I've already done some research and quickly found out those "deals" that are on ebay all the time are junk, and that it'd be best to stick with one of the big name's to avoid certain frustration.

24"-30" would be as big as I'd need, I "could" probably make due with a 15" cutter, but why bother when there's hardly any price difference to go up to a 24".