• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Photoshop?

Tom Printz

Hey all. Brand new to the sign business here. I learned photoshop in design school and feel the most comfortable designing in it (logo's, etc) but I am also aware that the designs are not vector. As I am new to the sign business I have tons to learn and I don't want new software another thing on that list. I also have illustrator (both PS and Ill are CS3) and Corel X4. I am also pretty familiar with Illustrator but Corel is totally foreign to me.

My question is what program would you guys suggest I spend my time with? Until I learn the business better I'm just sticking to vinyl letter application on vehicles and banners. I was going to give printing a shot but my SP-300 is still printing gradients pixelated... Until I can figure out the printing my income will be just the letters.

I'm most excited about vehicle wraps. I feel Corel and Illustrator are pretty limited when it comes to designing things of this nature?

Also, if I do design something with colors to be printed, what is a good resolution to design in? CMYK or RGB? Export as a PDF or EPS?

Thanks in advance for the help!

SebastienL

Illustrator!!!!

Doesn't matter what you use for designing vehicles wrap. Deppends on what style you want and what you're most comfortable with.

Always CMYK. You can't go wrong with Eps and Tif.
:toasting:

Tom Printz