• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Purchasing a business.

Stacy1203

Hey Guys! My husband and I have been in business for a year. We quit our corporate jobs waved bye bye to our comfortable 6 figures and have been running our sign, print and embroidery business. We like quantum leaps ( please save the advice about growing slow and blah blah blah we don’t believe in holding back for the sake of traditional thinking) anywho! We’re looking to purchase a business, one that really connected with us is owners we had spoken to when we first started out. They’re older and looking to retire so they want out! We began the initiatives for the acquisition but the numbers look pretty shady. My background is in exec level retail management and my husband in banking..... we know right off the back that money is being filtered out for personal use which then automatically decreases their cash flow but hey no big deal we understand business owners get a little slick sometimes. What I’m having a hard time understanding ( my accountant as well) is for the last two years the couple has put in paid in capital into the business. One year upwards of 50k and the next year upwards of 100k.. yet and still no one has been able to give me a straight answer as to why? After all expenses the business allegedly has a cash flow of a little over 40k so Its just not adding up. The gross income 2018 is around 350k which is 50k more than 2017 but the same as 2016. So my question is what would you pay for this? 350k gross, “40k cash flow” about 70k worth of equipment and inventory. This is company that turned a niche into a business, they’ve been around for 30years and only do embroidery. We see amazing opportunity here but just need to make sense of it all.

Gino

Premium Subscriber