Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

recomended 4x8 acrylic for cabinet

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by cleanmywound, Jan 20, 2008.

1. cleanmywound

cleanmywound Member

Dec 20, 2007
    Hello signs 101,
    I need help.

I am new to the sign biz., (mostly into small vinyl car graphics, vehicle lettering, etc.).
    I was commissioned to do a back lit 4' x 8' cabinet sign, white, translucent.

I was wondering what would be the proper substrate for this?
    I have found Plexi in 3/16", would this be good enough?
    The cabinet has 1" rails(?), and is 6" deep, sitting 16' high to the bottom of the sign.

I guess my question is, would 3/16" Plexi be rigid enough?

Thanks for any input!!

Adam

Tags:
  2. rockz12

rockz12 Specializing in the strange and unusual

Jun 5, 2007
    Hamilton, NJ
    That would be fine! Make sure you get a sign white plexi 7328.

3. austinmultimedia

austinmultimedia Member

Nov 10, 2007
    Can you use clea plexi??? Well, I have used clear in the past, what are theh problems disadvantages of using clear?

Chris

4. rockz12

Jun 5, 2007
    Hamilton, NJ
    With clear plexi you will have to print on a translucent vinyl which is pretty expensive. If the plexi is translucent (sign white) you can print direct to or double strike clear material and apply. Either way you are going to need a diffuser or you will see the lights.

5. cleanmywound

cleanmywound Member

Dec 20, 2007
    Thanks rock12

6. austinmultimedia

austinmultimedia Member

Nov 10, 2007