• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Rights to my design?

soundhound

I just need some input from y'all. I have been working for a few years with a client to design their primary ID. It is an evolving design and we are still tweaking the prototype sign.

I was just informed by their facilities person that they have decided to have a competitor duplicate my design in at least 2 new facilities they are building. Their explanation is that the general contractor selected my competitor (I was not even included in the bidding)... and they expect me to send over all the documentation he needs to purchase all the components and erect my sign.

I have a number of projects going with this client, and do not want to go to war with them... just wondering if anyone has any great ideas on handling this?

Locals Find!

Charge them for you design. Its yours, someone is trying to out you of the business relationship. Your going to lose all the work anyway at this point. Get paid well for it walking away.

weaselboogie

Let them know that your design time is part of your price if price was the factor of why they went with a competitor. Also let them know that you'll need to charge them for it, but will be happy to supply the competition with a completed design once your customer pays for it. Your customer must know that this is theft and 'could' go to court if needed. The other guy is cheaper because he may not have spent as much time in development as you did. Charge accordingly!

soundhound

I billed them, and am still billing them for the design.

But as I understand it, that doesn't mean they can just have someone else produce it.

I don't want to see my design show up without my involvement, and i certainly don't want to see my design in a competitor's portfolio.