• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Shackled with OMEGA, help.

os101king

Buying out a small shop I've been running for a few years now. Owner loved his Edge, and when we updated from Graphix Advantage, he went with 2.0 Omega, against my advice. Now that I'm buying out this shop, it's saddled with GERBER software and a woefully inadequate CX24 plotter. I need to update to a digital printer/contour cutter/laminator setup, and I have the funds to do it. I do very little large format, so I think the 38" would do handily (of the mutoh jr. i believe?). My biggest question is this. Is it feasible to run a printer other than the edge using OMEGA as your initital software? I only do my vector desiging there, I do most digital in Adobe Ill/PS. Please, no Gerber reps placing comments. I trust Gerber about as far as I can throw them.

Secondly, if replacing this crapware with Flexi (or?) is the best bet, does anyone want to buy a (slightly used) copy (with dongle) of OMEGA? Disregard the "crapware" comment. Really. It's a great program by a great and honest company. I swear.

I also have one slightly used Brooklyn Bridge for sale. Any takers? :rolleyes:

Techman

Larger printers need a RIP software. Not sure how you are printing in illy unless its direct..

iSign

get Flexi. Has a built-in rip, & can be used to run the edge, but I use Flexi only for my digital printing... I'm far happier to have Omega on a seperate workstation for my edge.

I do all my design work in Adobe .ai or .psd also, but then import to Omega for edge, Signlab for cut vinyl, or Flexi for printing.

Arlo Kalon 2.0

os101king said:
I trust Gerber about as far as I can throw them.