• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Sign making help NOOB

funghi2

SOrry for the noobage here , first post. I am a builder and I bought an HP designjet t120 to print my own construction plans on arch D paper rolls. Ive been using HP Everyday Matte Polypropylene rolls. I was sick of paper getting destroyed on the worksite. well it turns out the hp rep was wrong about it being waterproof. the set got wet and the colors bled. turns out after several frustrating calls the black ink is pigment based while the color is dye based and not waterproof. to compound the matter it seems even printing in grey scale uses some color. in any event there are always tons of signs you need to make for a jobsite and i was wondering if theres a way to use this printer to make these signs and waterproof them somehow. I tried a clear shellac but it did cause some bleeding. if not is a there a reasonable 24" printer you guys could recommend that could print using waterproof inks

letterman7

Because Designjets were always meant to be indoor usage. Get rid of it and get a true latex or solvent ink printer. You won't find one in 24" though..

Billct2

Three suggestions to work with what you have.
1. See if the printer can convert the printer to all pigment inks. This was an option available on their bigger printers.
2. You can clear coat. There are several options available, spraying but it is stinky and expensive or brush/roller application.
3. Laminate. If they aren't big prints it can easily be done (after a little practice) by hand on a nice flat smooth table.

Gino

Premium Subscriber