• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Thinking about it.....

Farmboy

After reading all these post the only reason I can pick up for you wanting to do this is because some guy that does advertising is making money and for some reason the sign business is going to fill your pockets with cash. Did you notice that the one's here that are successful stated one thing that you didn't. They LOVE this work. That's what working for yourself is about. Is there money to be made here...Yes. Look at some of these guys skills. Check their sites and their work, some of it is fantastic! Can you produce that kind of work to get top dollar or are you just looking at material cost and seeing what some folks are getting and thinking it's easy money?

JK driver

I have a degree in drafting and illustration. My uncle was an old time sign guy/commersial artist. I learned alot from my uncle working in the sign business. I was a sponge reading everything I could about the sign business. You need some kind of art back ground or just have a real sincere "Love" of this type of work to make it in this business.

In past jobs I have dealt with one of the big franchise shops. The owner was some middle management guy with Wallyworld. He had the money and decided he wanted to be a sign guy. Alot of his stuff is horrible. He can't even put vinyl on a sign straight. And blaims it on the inexperienced help that he hires. Even though he is the owner, and it's all his fault. We had to redo stuff we sub'd to him. Like what was said before this is an industry that you have to be a jack of all trades in. Wood worker, painter, metal worker, artist, hole digger, sales man, and the list goes on and on.

One of the best books you can start with for layout is Mastering Layout, by Mike Stevens.