• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Ugh, I'm an idiot. Customer troubles!

MariaMartini

As you'all know I am new to doing this all by myself.

I figured I would do basic design work (for signs I am producing) for free. Since I'm not very busy yet its not really keeping me from anything else, well except housework.

I got an order today for yard signs and he asked me to design them. They are for a construction company and he wanted some sort of graphics, not just text, but had absolutely no ideas of his own. I send him the attached documents.

He also told me before hand that he didn't know what color he wanted them to be yet, and he had to ask his business partners, so I told them I would design them in black but that they could be in any color.

When he finally checked his email he called angry that I didn't send him more options and wants me to design more as well as resend him the old files in a variety of colors. I'm kind of pissed now but I guess it's my fault.

Can I tell him I will charge if any more changes are required or did I just screw myself on this one?

Attachments

• Picture 4.jpg
    Picture 4.jpg
    73.4 KB · Views: 100
  • Picture 5.jpg
    Picture 5.jpg
    74.1 KB · Views: 79

doublesky

Yeah, you are probably going to be SOL on this one... but in the future... don't do design work for free! I also learned this one the hard way... people will just take advantage of you.

Does he have a logo? Is he pissed cause you didn't come up with a good enough logo... or is it the overall sign? Well, regardless... try to simplify it a bit. Do you have to use THREE FULL NAMES AND NUMBERS?! Kinda excessive...

anotherdog

Tell him the basic design is free (or the first half an hour) anything more is $ per hour design time.