• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Various Sign Making Questions

Melissam2505

My name is Melissa and I live in Idaho. I am branching into the sign business and have a few questions.

First I will say why I decided to dive into signs. I own a Roland Cutter that I have been using to do vinyl lettering, along with a partner who has some experience in sign making. I am now wanting to more with the sign portion of the business to help ends meet. A lot of overhead is shared with my photography business ( I am a portrait photographer with a retail space.) and I already know a lot with the software aspect. Requests for signs have picked up through word of mouth and I am basically trying to learn more so I can offer more services.

My questions:

1)I see some signs mounted to exterior walls with no visible hardware or fasteners showing. How is this accomplished?

2)Im looking for the best places to outsource some printing. I have found a few companies through searching the forums, but would appreciate any suggestions.

Outsourcing for :
Sandblasted signs
Printed Banners ( I read Creative Banner seems to be popular)
Printed Vinyl
Routed Signs and Letters

3) Painting MDO board... I have read conflicting reports on what types of paint and primers to use. Any advice on this?

I appreciate the help!

jiarby

oy vey....

I have been a sign guy but thinking of branching out...
I got a Nikon D40 for Christmas and have been taking some cool photos. I uploaded them and word is getting around and now I want to branch out into portraits and wedding photos.

I have a few questions though.

1. To make prints, is Eckards or Walmart better?
2. How can I get that little crying bastard to shut up and smile?