• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What should I do??

k.a.s.

So I have been working with an ad agency on a sign project. I dont do a lot of third party stuff so it appears I made a mistake. So I sent a price to the agency and the project was a go.

Yesterday we went to install and I gave the invoice when done to the client, which is what I always do honestly it was done out of habbit and it didnt even occur to me that I screwed up. Well now the ad guy is pissed b/c they were marking my stuff up around $1,000. I assumed they were charging for designs and stuff, but he never told me I wasnt to bill the client, I realize I made a mistake but I've never worked with them before so it wouldve been nice if he had said somthing.

So the question is what do I do now? He wants me to pay him his mark-up, but the client agreed to a price, I dont know why they wouldnt still pay it weather they know the wholesale or not. I'm prolly not getting any more work from them either way, so do I pay him his mark-up?

Kevin

"Deposit Please"

lol..a detailed contract would've been nice and this prolly wouldn't have happened. At this point, I would talk with the guy directly(face to face) and iron it out.

anotherdog

Client agreed the price. the Agency needs to go to the client for the money.
However sounds like the Agency doesn't want to lose the client.
Can you negotiate some kick-back and save the relationship?

I am always leery about working with agencies because of issues like incredible mark-up and difficulty getting paid.

WhiskeyDreamer

Professional Snow Ninja
I've done a few agency jobs, and each one has been different. Sometimes I'm billing the agency, other times I'm billing their client directly.