• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello...I am not a graphic artist

Jeff

Just venting from dealing with yet another "Graphic artist" that apparently has not learned much about real world designing. I won't bore anyone with the details...I know many others here deal with this as well.

Unfortunately (unless they are learning things here) there are probably many on this site with a "degree" that know nothing about good design/layout.

I just grow tired of hearing "I have a degree in graphic arts" (RED FLAG!!!!) Then they email you some atrocious piece of work with tons of basic blunders. Many of the ones I have dealt with get offended when I offer some corrective thoughts.

I just added this to my Facebook page. Jeff's Lettering

Avery Foss & Heiman jpeg.jpg
Me lettering my first shop truck close to 28 years ago.

The names will not mean much too many people...but I like to give thanks/acknowledgement to the sign painters that inspired/mentored me.

Jeff

SignManiac

Frustrating yes. Only going to get worse I'm afraid. A tool, computer, or printer does not make a person an artist. Creativity and visual perception can't be bought over the counter or online.

Marlene

some times it is just a little bad kerning that makes it clear some one skipped school the day they taught this. this is one of my cringe worthy designer produced logos I have to work with. the Your is just part of the logo but the kerning between the "Y" and the "o" is where you really see a lack of knowleadge

Attachments

• your.jpg
    your.jpg
    20.6 KB · Views: 105

Jeff

Kerning is one of my biggest pet-peeves when it comes to the simplest of basic layout...although...I must admit I’ve had a few kerning issues get by me...Stupid computers!

PRS Bryan