Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Material Fail?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by SAR.Summerlin, Dec 26, 2012.

1. SAR.Summerlin

SAR.Summerlin Member

Jul 11, 2012
    So we did these signs on Friday and they were put out on Saturday. today the customer sends us this picture. I am new to this and not sure I used the correct material. What could cause this and what should I have used.

Used Dibond substrate with a 3M IJ35 matte vinyl and a unknown brand matte lamination.

Sign is at the local ski resort so is regularly exposed to below zero temperatures.

Attached Files:

Tags:
  2. the graphics co

the graphics co Active Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Gurnee, IL
    Looks like someone picked at the edge of the graphic.

3. OADesign

OADesign Active Member

Jan 27, 2006
    California
    This may be a silly question, but did you clean your dibond well before applying your graphics? And with what?

I use Dibond/MaxMetal ALL the time. But once in a while some comes in with oils on it. Maybe from the manufacture process, who knows? But its wont even hold the protective film. On certain sheets the, protective liner will fall off while sitting on the rack. I use iso or denatured to thoroughly clean the sign before applying the graphics.

Maybe one got by you?

4. SAR.Summerlin

SAR.Summerlin Member

Jul 11, 2012
    I did clean them well with denatured alcohol. Also according to the customer this is happening on all 4 signs.

5. John Butto

John Butto Very Active Member

Jan 9, 2007
    Did you use wet or dry install.

6. SAR.Summerlin

SAR.Summerlin Member

Jul 11, 2012
    Dry using my laminator

7. skyhigh

skyhigh Major Contributor

Jun 16, 2005
    PA