• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Material Fail?

SAR.Summerlin

So we did these signs on Friday and they were put out on Saturday. today the customer sends us this picture. I am new to this and not sure I used the correct material. What could cause this and what should I have used.

Used Dibond substrate with a 3M IJ35 matte vinyl and a unknown brand matte lamination.

Sign is at the local ski resort so is regularly exposed to below zero temperatures.

Attachments

• LVSSR_Sample.jpg
    LVSSR_Sample.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 134

OADesign

This may be a silly question, but did you clean your dibond well before applying your graphics? And with what?

I use Dibond/MaxMetal ALL the time. But once in a while some comes in with oils on it. Maybe from the manufacture process, who knows? But its wont even hold the protective film. On certain sheets the, protective liner will fall off while sitting on the rack. I use iso or denatured to thoroughly clean the sign before applying the graphics.

Maybe one got by you?

SAR.Summerlin

This may be a silly question, but did you clean your dibond well before applying your graphics? And with what?

I use Dibond/MaxMetal ALL the time. But once in a while some comes in with oils on it. Maybe from the manufacture process, who knows? But its wont even hold the protective film. On certain sheets the, protective liner will fall off while sitting on the rack. I use iso or denatured to thoroughly clean the sign before applying the graphics.

Maybe one got by you?

I did clean them well with denatured alcohol. Also according to the customer this is happening on all 4 signs.

skyhigh

i doubt this is your problem but how do you use UNKNOWN materials?

Ok maybe that is your problem.

SAR.Summerlin