• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

buying artwork

ontsigngirl

Hello all - finally named my business - and designed my logo - unfortunately the artwork I found requires a $300 license to use it. Keep in mind I've downloaded the vector art, no copyrights attached.

I want to do the right thing - I love the image - but I'm just starting out and can think of a ton of things I could use $300 for. Any thoughts? How can someone license artwork that is free for the taking off the web - no watermark - no copyright. I'm thinking I'd happily pay $100 - should I just suck it up and pay the $300?

Comments please.

Idea Design

Yikes. You've literally stepped in to a lion's den full of artists who routinely get paid by the hour or by the job for creating the very artwork you are speaking of here.

I don't fully understand this statement:

...and designed my logo - unfortunately the artwork I found...

What does this mean? How could you have designed a logo, yet are here seeking advice about whether or not to pay for artwork you pilfered off the net?

As the old saying goes, just because you can doesn't mean you should. There needs not be copyright or trademark symbols on artwork for someone to own it.

I'd tread very lightly.

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
What you are stating makes no sense but it is obvious that it is not copyright free ... otherwise how did it get around to a $300 fee. Just because someone is careless and allows access to a file does not mean it is copyright free or that you can use it or should use it.

First off, if it is to be your logo or part of it, then you should have full ownership of all rights and it should not be available under any conditions to anyone else.